10 things i miss about Montreal

9 Jan

My journey in Hong Kong finally came to an end and as i am waiting to board my flight at the airport i couldn’t help but feel torn. In one hand i will miss Hong Kong, but on the other hand, I am happy to be going home . This inspired me to write this post about the things that i miss about Montreal. And soon, i will write about the things i will miss about Hong Kong.

1- The Old Port

The old port is my far my favourite place in Montreal, walking there takes you back to 1800’s French Quebec. Beautiful buildings and waterfront view make for a perfect evening stroll. It is also a favourite because i can go skating there in the winter or watch the fireworks in the summer.

The Old Port

The Old Port

2- Mont Royal

This place is also one of my favourites,. I miss going there for picnics in the summer, especially on sundays when the TamTams are happening. But even in the winter, we can skate at the beaver lake or simply enjoy a scenic top mountain view of the city.

Beaver Lake at Mont Royal

Beaver Lake at Mont Royal

3- Tim Hortons

Why would you pay 4$ for a coffee when you have Tim Horton’s ?! It is by far, the national coffee in Canada and every student’s best friend. I miss grabbing my morning coffee there and taking study/work breaks with friends.

cb-timhortons

Cana’s Favorite Coffee

 

4- Bagels

Forget New York Bagels! Montreal had some of the best Bagels ever. I especially like Saint Viateur bagels. They have a shop in front of my house and i miss going there every sunday morning to get my breakfast bagels. Fresh out of the oven and for 80 cents each

Bagels fresh out of the oven

5- Movie Tuesdays

I only go to watch movies when they are half price and this became a habit. So Tuesdays became a friends’ reunion day over a movie.

SCE_Header1_EN

Half Price Tuesdays

6- Bixi

Well, not in the winter! but definitely my favourite way to move around the city when it is warm enough. I think the person who invented Bixi deserves an award: so convenient and affordable

bixiBike

Montreal’s Bixi

7- Multiculturalism 

I can not highlight this enough, but Montreal is one of the few cities i know where you can find Chinese, Indian, Japanese, Lebanese, Italian restaurants on the same block. I also miss listening to conversations in languages i don’t understand in the bus.

422-10-canada

30% of Canadian Citizens were not born in Canada !

8- Festivals

Not only festivals but free festivals; a great lineup of concerts and fireworks weather it is summer or winter.

Free concerts

Free concerts

9- Markets 

Farmer’s markets are a staple of Montreal. I miss going there on the week ends to buy fresh fruits and veggies and sample many other local products.

montreal-septembre-2007-marche-jean-talon-img

Marche Jean Talon

10. Dollarama aka Dollar Store 

I wish there was a dollar store is every city, i miss how convenient it is to replace your torn stockings for 1$ or just buy a snack

9f927377-b995-4a7e-8f53-7a2e30d8dece

Dollarama

 

Despite all the amazing things Montreal had, there are still dew things i know i don’t miss at all

1-The STM

Service interrupted at rush hour, no AC in the summer heat and pay more to go to Laval! No need to say more lol

STM sucks

STM sucks

2-The cold

Snow is beautiful and we all love skiing but 6 months of snow is just way too much

Endless snowy winter

Endless snowy winter

4 Responses to “10 things i miss about Montreal”

  1. candies & crunches January 9, 2014 at 7:59 pm #

    Oh yeah, Saint Viateur bagels!

  2. abhilashsurendran January 10, 2014 at 1:10 am #

    Looks good! Oh, I forgot to tell you that there was a castle called ‘Montreal castle’, in Jordan. Of all people, should have told you, well somehow escaped my mind. 🙂

  3. thisgirlabroad January 10, 2014 at 1:32 am #

    If you’re looking for a quick fix, head to Yo Bago in Quarry Bay where you can get some tasty bagels and a Tim Hortons double double.
    Most cinemas I’ve been to here in HK have cheap movie night on Tuesdays as well. They also do cheaper tickets if you go there in the morning.
    Enjoy your return back to Canada, and to the cold and snow!

  4. Nour Elhouda January 10, 2014 at 10:24 am #

    I’ll probably be the only one who says this, but set aside coffee (always the number 1 :p ), i think i would enjoy spending my day in the farmer market and my night on the old port 🙂

Leave a Reply

