Moving to Hong Kong

29 Sep

After almost 5 years living in Montreal, Canada, i started feeling restless and in need for some change. However, because of my studies i couldn’t just pack my things and go. So i found a solution that will allow me to temporarily move elsewhere while continuing my studies; go on exchange !

I started the application process in January 2013 (Another post on how to go on exchange will come soon) and on August 26th, i landed in Hong Kong where i will be living for the next 4 months.

Hong_Kong_Night_Skyline2

But why Hong Kong?

To be honest, Hong Kong was not my first choice on my exchange application… Singapore was. These two destinations were on the top of my list for several reasons:  

1- Being a business hub in the area; and since i will be graduating in less then 8 months i wouldn’t mind getting some contacts and coming back for a job later on.

2- Proximity to several Asian countries i would like to visit

3-English being the official language; because honestly i won’t be learning a new language in just 4 months

I put Singapore as my first destination choice  because i got more recommendations to go to National University of Singapore than City University of Hong Kong . In addition, I do have a lot of friends in Singapore. I ended up getting accepted to CityU HK which turned out to be a great experience…so far 😀 And it’s okay that i didn’t know anyone when i landed here because i got to meet a lot of people afterwards. And now if I want to visit Singapore, i have friends to host and show me around 🙂

I am currently studying and living at City University of Hong Kong and will be here until the end of 2013.

The Challenge of moving to a new place and travelling around inspired me to start this blog to document my experience so i hope you ennjoy the upcoming posts.

4 Responses to “Moving to Hong Kong”

  1. gettingdiscomfortable September 29, 2013 at 1:17 pm #

    Wow! I wish I was able to do a foreign exchange when I was at university. Hong Kong sounds very exciting. Looking forward to reading about your experiences 🙂

    • Global Citizen October 7, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

      It is never too late to travel, even not as an exchange student you still can go work or volunteer abroad ! thanks for following the blog, i hope you like the upcoming posts

  2. dinamalyana September 29, 2013 at 6:21 pm #

    Hi Ines, let me know when you head down to Singapore! I’d love to bring you around! Also, don’t worry on missing out in NUS because this school is waaaay intense you’ll probably have no time to enjoy your exchange program. (I’m dying in the midst of semester!) Hehe. Hope to see you again soon. In the meantime, have lots of fun in Hong Kong!! 🙂

    • Global Citizen October 7, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

      Thanks Dina for your offer, i am thinking about visiting Singapore/ Malaysia in December. Will keep you updated about the details on the trips once confirmed
      Also, yeah you are right about NUS! CityU is very chill 😀

Leave a Reply

